Five Rise Locks

I've had a busy day today.  I walked down in to Bingley early doors to catch the train to Leeds where I found birthday presents for a dear friend, did not find wedding shoes but did buy a wedding jacket from Rohan!  I missed a return train so rang Tony to come and have lunch with me in Bingley so that he could take my bags home (what a star!)

After lunch I walked along the canal to Five Rise Locks and was rewarded with seeing two narrowboats going through the lock system.  One of the travellers pointed out to me a pigeon which was flying back and forth with twigs into the lock gate!  It was quite clearly building a nest within the woodwork and wasn't a bit phased that the gate kept opening and closing!  I would have thought it was quite a damp spot for a nest, but safe from predators.

From Five Rise I walked up to Doreen's lovely house for tea, cake and catch up with friends from our old Save the Children Committee.  A couple of hours later and I was back on foot heading home through Bingley and St Ives, having thankfully missed the heavy rain showers.

ps I've just realised I caught the pigeon heading in to its nest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.