Derwent Water

This turned out to be pretty much a perfect day. We started off with breakfast at the hotel - Café 26 - which, for me, consisted of pancakes, bacon and maple syrup, and several coffees. Then we grabbed our stuff and set off to walk around Derwent Water. 

It was a beautiful day, sunny and warm, but no actual danger of sunstroke, and I was glad the Minx talked me out of taking my jacket. It's just under ten miles all the way 'round, and we took it easy, stopping for photos, water and bananas. I'm not sure what we talked about but we seemed to chat the  whole way and, at about three o'clock, found ourselves back in Keswick.

A drink seemed entirely well-earned, so we had a bottle of Magners each in the hotel bar, the Minx drawing while I read my book. It's just so blissful, that combination of having exercised and then settling down with a drink and a good book (in my case, Resa Aslan's 'Zealot'). 

We stayed in the bar, having some more drinks and a couple of snacks to tide us over, until we were ready to go and eat at one of the restaurants that we saw last night. We opted for Merienda, which looked wonderful from the outside and had a good menu. The staff turned out to be charming and the food was excellent. Keswick has been a really lovely surprise, this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.