For the Love of a Tree ...

I don't often go up to the actual Haytor Rocks. There are usually too many people there at any time of day (or night). Today I almost had it to myself but my goal was this little hawthorn that stands bravely on the slope. You can see it on the horizon from the car park. It dips out of sight as you climb the hill and although I thought I'd given myself plenty of time, the sun was almost too low when I got there although it was still 45 minutes before official sunset time. It was quite chilly up there in a cold wind.

Once I'd taken a few more shots around the area, I headed back down and drove further up on the moor to see but the sunset didn't seem to be developing as I thought it would. 

I was very pleased earlier in the day when I went into the conservatory just to look out at view over the river. Something in the sky caught my eye and there, being harried by a gull was a Red Kite. OK, there are many parts of the country where these are common as muck these days but the South West as far as I'm aware is still very short of them. Great to see and I hope we'll get to see more. No camera handy of course but I was just pleased to watch.

Have a good weekend, won't you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.