Windblown Barley

I told you about the Red Kite over our house the other day. I thought it unusual enough to make a report it and I got this reply later on.

Many thanks for the sighting, much appreciated. There are usually a few kites seen at this time of year, presumably French birds popping over on thermals. There are none resident in Devon, I assume this is because we have so many Buzzards, filling the kites ecological niche.

It's good to have an answer. A shame that we'll be unlikely to see them regularly but good to find out the likely reasons for seeing it.


Just a short journey for today's blip, up to the barley field that I blipped a short while ago. I wondered what a restricted depth of field might do to the field. The wind was gusting making focusing more difficult but I just waited for the opportunity, in this case just at the top of the gust before the barley sprang back.

I've put a few shots from yesterday evening at Haytor on Flickr if you'd like to see them. There's a sunset at Lindridge gates from last night there too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.