FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Funny Friday Feeling

You know that Friday feeling when you can almost smell the weekend it's so close and yet one thing after another gets in the way to prevent the fun from starting? Well today was one of those 'funny' Fridays.

My morning began with a friend accidentally calling me instead of dialling her husband at 8am. So we had a bleary eyed chat about not very much as I tried to motivate myself into moving. I've not slept very much this week, despite being tired, as my brain is whirling away with various freelance projects so it was a bit of a struggle to get going on 3ish hours sleep.

The morning was spent bashing away at the keyboard, firing off emails and dealing with a flurry of phone calls including an unexpected but very welcome invite to the fly2help Gala dinner next Wednesday.

I packed my suitcase (and roller skates) and was about to leave the cottage to head to my brother's in Brighton when the heavens opened and the rain started lashing down. It sounded almost as if the shower was running it was so loud. As I was about to leave the house I thought, hang on a minute that sounds like the shower is running.

I dashed up to the bathroom to find rain water leaking through the wooden beam onto the wall and the floor. Thank goodness I checked or I may have returned to a huge mess! I've left my letting agent in charge of fixing it so hopefully the ceiling won't cave in!

I finally managed to leave the cottage and drive to Brighton mid-afternoon. The rest of the afternoon and evening were spent catching up with my brother and his partner (my spare brother) who cooked a delicious meal of meatballs and curly courgettes.

We watched classic 80s movie The Goonies, talked about the latest Marvel movies and caught up on each other's news. You can't beat time with family and a home cooked meal to make up for a 'funny' Friday.

Yet again I'm ending my day feeling there is such precious little time to catch up with those that matter most. Hopefully some more quality time with loved ones tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.