Five in black

Tonight it has taken me a long time to make a choice of photo to blip. At least I weeded the 59 photos down to 17 before making my choice! I feel quite profligate in taking so many photos. I never stop hoping that the distant shots will turn out alright in the end.
 
Especially when I get a photo like the first of the extras. I was heading back to the steps to return to the beach house, when two predominantly grey ducks (but hybrids with the mallard) took off. I took two hurried and hopeful shots, of which this was the better.

Also, I rarely manage to get a good photo of more than one bird at a time. Having got the second of my extras, the pure black variable oystercatcher was joined by four others, and I got today's blip. Never really expecting it to be quite as good as it is. Bird Nø 3 is showing signs of becoming pied, and bird Nø 2 is a much lighter black, so I wonder if it is also becoming pied.

At sunrise (or sunset) I suspect that the best picture is "now", and it turns out to be later. But rather than wait (and potentially miss the best photo) I take a photo each time it looks better than before. And then, on the computer, the earlier photos can sometimes be better. I've put a couple into extras to show the changes that can appeal.

I guess I'll just relax and accept that I take a lot of photos some days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.