Heidi

Working late on the Friday before a long weekend. Monday is a public holiday; it is the official marking of the birthday of Queen Elizabeth II. Her face is no longer on our bank notes; however her head still shows as the obverse on our coins. All that this means to me is that this weekend I don't have to be back in the city to work on Monday, and more importantly C, Mr H and Young L are coming to stay at the beach house with us for a couple of nights.

After I'd finished seeing the patients in the rooms today, I was able to pick up a replacement for my nearly 15 year old car which has been starting to cost more and more to maintain. I was almost back home when I worked out the gears. Otherwise it's been delightful. I really like the reversing camera. The GPS system is a bit of a super ego; 3kph above the speed limit and a voice informs me that I'm "exceeding the speed limit".

Before heading north, I took a quick run to photograph some street art in K Road. On the way back to the apartment I saw that the light was on in ESQ, Heidi's new business. She has been my hairdresser here for about three years. A couple of months ago she bought the business from the owner and has become an efficient business woman.

She saw me, and as always waved enthusiastically. I raised my camera and she gave me a thumbs up sign. Her client initially looked a little startled and then smiled as you see, after being reassured by Heidi that I'm not as weird as I look.

A photo for the One Street enterprise. My second street; Great North Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.