The Iconic Three Sisters

I had to blip this for a number of reasons.

I had intended to blip the Leura Cascades but when I thought about it, I take photos of waterfalls quite often, and though I love taking them and playing around with my settings, today's blip needed to be something more instantly recognisable as being in the Blue Mountains.

AND I am one of three sisters.  The roundest one in the middle is definitely me.  The taller skinnier one on the left is my baby sister and the matriarch on the right is my older sister.

What a great day we had today, though what A LOT of travel it involved.
After rising at 3.15 a.m. we flew out of Christchurch bound for Sydney.  On landing at 7.30 local time we headed to our hotel to drop off our bags and then to Central Station to catch a train to the Blue Mountains to meet up with Walking Wombat (WW) and CCN.  

Sadly the train tracks were closed from Penrith to town so we had to take a bus - which greatly extended the time of the journey.  Anyway, we eventually arrived in Wentworth Falls to a lovely welcome from  (WW).  Lunch at a delightful cafe with beautiful views out over the Jameson Valley, then a whizz around the high points of the area.  

WW was wonderful in showing us the best, and some of her personal (and therefore tourist free) views.  I was going to blip an image of the sisters from a different angle, a little known one that we got to see today,  but I loved the colour (pretty true I think) that I've managed to pick up on the cliffs on this one.

We even fitted in a visit to Wombat Hollow and a much needed rest over a cup of tea.  The much vaunted birds didn't put in an appearance for me today - so I'll be back just so that I can confirm they really do exist.

WW had us back at the train station in time to catch the return train in time for us to meet up with Jensphotos for dinner.  Sadly the bus part of the journey took more than 2 hours (just from Penrith to Central Station) so not only were we late, we were also shattered.  We had to renege on tonights catch up - but time with Jen (and other blippers) will be our focus tomorrow - well, that and the lights.

Thank you so much to WW for a great day!  We will return with more time in the future.

NB:  Choosing today's blip was so hard, with such great places and sights seen, so here are a few more on my Flickr page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.