From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

A beautiful day in Ayr

I wrote postcards last night while watching junk on the box and one of the cards had a really nice picture of Brig O' Doon but taken from the other bridge on the main road past the hotel. As the day was meant to be really good today, I suggested to mom that we walk to Alloway so I could recreate the picture for my blip. 

It was a cool morning so we walked down the road rather than along the beach. We went to the Secret Garden at Doonfoot at the halfway point where I had scrambled eggs and bacon while mom had a toasted sandwich. Perfect timing as my stomach was rumbling all the way up the road. My Sugar Puffs and a banana breakfast had worn off ages before! When I settled the bill, the manager said to me 'Do I detect a Birmingham accent?' I apologised and admitted it and then he asked me whether I'd be supporting Aston Villa later. I said I would but that I wasn't optimistic. With good reason too. AV were stuffed by Arsenal later. Oh well! No real surprise there. 

We carried on up the road to Robbie Burns Alloway where I took my postcard picture amongst many others. I have posted a few extra Alloway extra pictures and Robbie Burns' cottage is included too.

It was a lovely day for my last one in Ayr this trip. It's been a really nice week despite the weather which was only good on Monday and today. The rain returns tomorrow!   

Track? The marvellous Peter Green again with one of my favourite tracks - I Can't Help Myself

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.