From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I'm glad Edinburgh isn't in California!

It was fairly bright and cheerful first thing when I opened the curtains. I was first as usual waiting for breakfast as my stomach rumbling had woken me before my alarm this morning.

I had my usual - bran flakes and apple juice followed by egg, bacon, tomato and haggis with toast all washed down with a pot of tea. David introduced me to someone new today who was working here for a week on work experience. 'Roz is often here!' said David. I suppose I am here more often than most. This is the first time I have stayed in Edinburgh in summer. I am sat on my bed writing this watching the rain and hearing the dripping outside sighing with pleasure thinking that at least Scotland will never be full of Londoners looking for sunshine!

I managed not to laugh when David was trying to explain what porridge was to the couple at the next table. I was dying to see what the man thought of it as he was being brave and had decided to try a small portion but I'd sat there long enough over my breakfast as it was, so I headed back to my room to rest my stomach!

A while later I went up the road to Newhaven, got soaked and then went up to Ocean Terminal and decided to see San Andreas as it was just about to start with a tub of mint and chocolate chip ice cream despite the fact that it was only 11:20am.

It was really entertaining and worth seeing as the scenery and effects were great. It was a load of rubbish really though! Quite worrying when you think what could happen. It was very tense at times and I found myself inwardly shouting 'Hurry up!' There was the usual sentimental bits but loads of silly bits!

It was a sort of 'happily ever after' film in that none of the main characters died and they all looked marvellous despite nearly being crushed by falling buildings, nearly exploding, nearly being killed in a helicopter and outrunning a tsunami with big ocean liners capsizing everywhere!

I look worse when I've just stepped outside the door here!

Anyway, it was fun. I caught the bus to Bruntsfield after that but had to get off much later than that as a guy decided to sit next to me and got his laptop out. Why do people do that? I felt guilty disturbing him to get off but couldn't last any longer.

I eventually got back to my favourite Costa Coffee where I had a late lunch of a cheese and ham toastie with a large chai latte.

That's it. Not sure how much I'll blip the rest of the week as I'm meeting Ann, Baxter and John at 1:30pm for our customary pub crawl and dinner. It will be a fun day!

Track? It goes with the movie trailer with this one from the Mamas and the Papas in 1966 but I won't be dreaming of California tonight - California Dreamin'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.