From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Edinburgh - I nearly blew away!

I really am going to have to start putting heavy stones in my pockets!

I didn't do much in the morning after my lovely breakfast apart from rest my stomach and then catch the bus to Morningside with the intention of walking back to town to meet Ann, Baxter and John at 1:30pm at the Standing Order on George Street.

However, it was so windy I was struggling to put one foot in front of the other and gave up, clinging onto a bus shelter to avoid blowing away! I'm serious. It was that bad!

Anyway, I was at our meeting point early and decide to wait outside as the Standing Order is a massive Wetherspoons pub which was formally a bank and I doubted I would find my friends in there. Ann and Baxter arrived soon after, shortly followed by John.

I didn't take many pictures. Most were pints or curry dishes but I thought you might like to see the safe in the Standing Order. Too awkward to take out I reckon! The door you can see to the right is the disabled toilet which meant I felt slightly sorry for the man who emerged to have camera phones pointing in his direction.

From the Standing Order, we went to the west end of George Street to the Alexander Graham Bell (another Wetherspoons pub) and from there we went to the Haymarket Bar (a Nicholsons pub) where I had a pint of Old Legover. I felt a bit silly ordering it!

After that, it was nearly 6pm so we went to the wonderful The Khukuri where we had a really great meal. I'd recommend it to anyone and we all really enjoyed it. Our final stopping point for the evening was a whisky bar - Usquabae where I didn't have any whisky and stuck to Camden Ink - a really nice stout. It was a fascinating underground bar with little booths where groups of people could sit in private huddles. I imagine it would be a marvellous place to meet to plan a big crime without being overheard!

It was only a short stroll back to the bus stops on the Lothian Road from there where we said our goodbyes and disappeared homeward at the end of a long and lovely day.

I got back just on the stroke of midnight just before my ballgown turned back into rags!

Track? Paul Weller for no good reason - Why Walk When You Can Run

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.