From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Edinburgh - Buses, yachts and cinema tears

After last night's late night, I was still the first to breakfast and had my usual haggis breakfast. However, I left one rasher of bacon which David tutted and pointed out to the crowd on the table behind. I slunk back to my room and posted yesterday's blip before heading out.

Totally on a spur of the moment I decided to go on the Royal Yacht Britannia which has been anchored at Ocean Terminal virtually since it was decommissioned in 1997. The nice thing about the tour is that you are given a handset and can dawdle round the various points of interest pressing the right numbers to play the right description. I worked it out that I'd done this tour about 5 times - once with my parents when they'd first moved to Ayr, twice taking friends who had come from Brum to stay at A Haven at my recommendation and at least twice on my own.

I've always been interested in boats and love trips on the Waverley paddle steamer or visits to old famous boats like Britannia or the second Radio Caroline ship - the Ross Revenge - currently at Tilbury docks.

Even the royal quarters on the boat are very modest and dated but I always cringe looking at the cramped staff quarters and I really find it fascinating and particularly like the kitchens, the engine room, the operating theatre and the laundry. The commentary tells you that the royal clothing etc was washed on a different day to the crew laundry. Looking at the boxes of washing powder on the side, I couldn't imaging the Queen's frilly knickers going round and round with Prince Philip's y-fronts. Hmmmmm.

Anyway, after that I went to see Man Up as the cinema is on the same floor as the entry to the yacht. I loved it but I was feeling a bit down anyway and ended up a bit tearful. I have turned into one of those daft sentimental cows who cry at films. I sniffled in that daft San Andreas on Monday and cried my eyes out at the end of this one! It was a comedy. OK, romantic but still a bloody comedy with a lovely happy ending which will elude me or I'll be too senile to give a toss if/when it ever happens. You get the idea anyway.

Maybe I should give up going to the cinema? Surely I wouldn't cry in Mad Max 2 or Poltergeist??

Oh well...

Track? Plenty of music from the film to pick from but I have decided on this one as I couldn't cry about this one from George Thorogood - Bad to the Bone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.