a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Honey Bee

May Macro Mayhem #5

This was the last day of the Maymacromayhem Challenge.  I thought about shooting something indoors, particularly as it has been wet and windy all morning, but in the end the sun came out this afternoon and I could not resist a quick insect hunt in the garden.  While it wasn't warm, the bees seemed to be coping quite well with the wind. As you can see, I was able to get up close and personal, and was amazed to find that the bee appears to have eyelashes!  I'm sure that they aren't eyelashes, but they do look just like them :-)


Following on from yesterday's good guy, bad guy theme, the extra shot is of a blue bottle.  But to even things out, I've included a baby spider too ... the spider was absolutely tiny, and not at all keen to have his portrait taken!


A big thank you WalkingWombat for running this challenge, it has encouraged me to have a go at an area of photography I've not tried before.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.