Incredibish

By Incredibish

Porz'ed Marinal

It's been years, perhaps two decades, since I last visited Portishead. Looking for somewhere local but different for a rideout on Morrigan, I thought to revisit; maybe the relatively new marina and housing development would be worth a scout out. 

Well, I like trees, and greenery, grass and flowers, and they ain't got none o' that in "Port Marine". They did have this though, which looks rather spectacular in a bleak sort of way, against the louring skies over the Bristol Channel.

Apparently called "Seafarer's Sculpture", it consists of 108 pillars of Portland Stone, some engraved, and it is home to about the only greenery in sight. Rather lovely, and set off the rest of the place nicely.

I did eventually find the old town I remembered, with it's open air pool and boating lake, and I had a wander up to Battery Point, which is where you get the best view of any passing ships - although there weren't any. But see the extra piccie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.