a modest enquirer

By lewishamdreamer

Walking to Work

It's been forever since I was here regularly. I miss this place a great deal, but I've been underconfident with both my writing and photography, even though in general my confidence this year has grown and grown. This isn't a place where a quick hit will do - it requires time, effort and concentration, all of which have proven insurmountable obstacles after a long day in an ever more rewarding job. I don't want my world to be all about my work though - I was seriously creative once, and it brought me huge satisfaction, and setting the terms of what truly brings me satisfaction as an adult is becoming my top priority. So my cameras now follow me everywhere, and I'm starting to look at the world in a different way once more. 

I prioritised more than just the working day this morning, and walked to work entirely by choice. I was 15 minutes late (which was genuinely down to the train operating company) but in that time I got to take in the Thames for half an hour, got to pass under a fair few famous bridges and was treated to a South Bank starting its day. There are no tourists at that time of day - well there was a handful of French kids, but not the packs of the directionally challenged who always seem to pop out of the woodwork when the weather's nice. I got to charge ever westwards from London Bridge to Waterloo and enjoy it on a work day. Don't think I didn't appreciate the experience - I was downright thankful for it - that stretch of London is historic and iconic and it really is a privilege to be able to take it in essentially whenever I like every day. The weather fell to pieces later on, but it held for my photo walk.

Hopefully tomorrow I'll be able to capture a similar aspect of something very simple, which I'm equally thankful for (there were some ducks today which came very close if you can believe it). I'm enjoying the simple things in life again slowly but surely, and I hope it's meditation which comes back next. Maybe the more curious I start to be about my life and the world around me, it'll be inevitable. I will admit I'm excited about the direction of travel this year so far. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.