Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Light in the west ...

Half an hour before I took this photo, I was cooking dinner to the noise of the rain battering our back door. The wonderful new shoot on the rose bush outside, the red, straight one I'd been sure would turn out to be a sucker and hadn't, was thrashing about so that I was sure it would break as the wind hurled leaves and twigs round the garden. We lit the candles against the bleak grey of a summer evening that thought it was November and sat down to eat.

And then we realised there was a pale line of sky above the hills behind the town ... and by the time we'd finished eating the sun was shining and the wind had dropped and the birds had launched into a last song for the evening. I know there will be more wind and rain before this night is out, but  it was a wonderful moment.

Crazy, crazy weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.