RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Temecula Wine Country

I grew up in Washington Wine Country and think very highly of our accomplished winemakers. I often wondered (especially when I was the executive director of the Yakima Valley Winery Association) what the big deal was about California. Our wines competed successfully in prestigious competitions, our tasting rooms were friendly and welcoming, our area had lots to offer. After our trip through the Temecula Wine Country today I finally understand what the hoopla is about. The area is incredible, the wineries spectacular, and the amenities first rate. This wasn't Napa nor Sonoma, but a region I had only barely heard of, yet the number of wineries and their size and opulence was astounding. It was a bit overwhelming, though we managed to find a nice restaurant overlooking beautiful vineyards where we enjoyed a delicious lunch (and of course a bottle of wine). We were there mid-day, so the best I could do was this close-up of some young cabernet grapes. Would love to return someday with a knowledgeable guide to see the best the area has to offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.