stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Talkin' Heids #10 ~ Norman MacCaig (1910-1996)

London to Edinburgh

I'm waiting for the moment
when the train crosses the Border
and home creeps closer
at seventy miles an hour.

I dismiss the last four days
and their friendly strangers
into the past
that grows bigger every minute.

The train sounds urgent as I am,
it says home and home and home.
I light a cigarette
and sit smiling in the corner.

Scotland, I rush towards you
into my future that,
every minute,
grows smaller and smaller.


This will be the final Heid for a while. The last two are stuck behind the barriers of the tram works and sadly inaccessible for the moment. Thanks for all your lovely comments on this series. I'm not a big poetry fan but it's been fun reading them.


Updates of the faceless Mega Corporations

It's been a while but in other news, I finally managed to get hold of Santander today and get the insurance sorted out for the 5D. No problems this time. In fact, I'll be getting a phone call from a complaints manager tomorrow after I explained that I had previously phoned in January and February to unsuccessfully add items to my policy. I didn't complain, but when the helpful Grace heard I'd been told I would get free cover, the call was requested of me. Oooops!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.