this luminous life.

By Laura

Out On The Tiles.

Led Zeppelin.

I couldn't decide which to post.

If you've been following my blips, then you know that my apartment building burned down a couple weeks ago and I had to move out. I lived at my parent's for about a week, sleeping on the couch and using a backpack for all my clothes. During the past week, I moved into 'my new house.' I'm still settling in and getting used to being here, but it's really nice! :)

A couple nights ago, I ventured to the basement to find an adapter for the computer power cord (two prongs vs. three). I found this chair sitting alone in the basement that I hadn't remembered being there earlier in the day (OK, I admit that I moved the chair from one side of the room to the other for this picture, but still....). That, in addition to the thumping noises I heard after I turned the lights on, gave me the chills. I mean, why would you put a chair alone in the middle of an empty room? Flashbacks of horror movies.... I searched for the adapter quickly and ran up the stairs. During the day, I'm not bothered; in the evenings, I tend to avoid the basement and the attic.

Apologies for the blurry picture! :( My 18-55mm lens still hasn't been fixed since it broke months ago, and is locked in one focus/zoom position. I had to use it since the 50mm wouldn't have captured the whole scene (the point and shoot didn't do well in the poor lighting conditions). I kind of like the blur though. It gives it an old-time feel. And yes, that is a chalkboard on the wall with scribblings from years ago! :D

Question: When you have your own place, do you tend to shut the doors while using the bathroom and dressing, or leave them wide open for your wandering pleasure? I realized how silly it was for me to shut the bedroom door if no one else lives here...

[A year ago today... mascot sighting.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.