All dressed up and ready to go

Today the WI went to Buckingham Palace! 8000 members queued in long lines around the palace walls. The queue we chose took us through three rooms in the palace, one of which was lined with smiling Yeomen of the Guard to greet us.
Emerging outside we saw the extensive lawns covered by brightly dressed ladies. It was very windy today and we often saw hats and fascinators bowling across the grass.
Three ladies from the Royal Family joined us, Camilla, Sophie Countess of Wessex and Princess Alexandra. I was close to Sophie, lovely lady.
The tea was as good as you would expect and the music from two military bands entertained us. The queues for the loos were 30 minutes long!
Two days ago Corinthian, with tongue in cheek I presume, told me to look out for her two friends from The Isle of Man. Look for two people I don't know, amongst 8000. BUT, when I was lining up to see Sophie, two members from The Isle of Man came and stood beside me. "Do you know someone called Corinthian?" I asked. And they did! It was them! What sort of a coincidence is that?! And yet I had arranged a place to meet my sister and we never met up! Frustrating.
The blip shows the four members of my WI who attended the party. The young one in the middle is our president and I'm the one in white at the back. Our coach arrived very early so we found a wine bar to pass the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.