Old Ways of Seeing

Dear Diary,

I discovered three old memory cards in a drawer yesterday with images 7-8 years old on them!  It was fun to look back on what drew my attention...what I thought worthy of photographing.  I chose one image from each card to represent my old way of seeing.

I was completely dedicated to monochrome photography back then.  The simplicity and purity of the black and white image was all important.  But in many ways my "old ways" are very like my "new ways".  I still seek out the simple architectural detail that is all about geometry and design.  I still love reflective surfaces that offer an alternative way of regarding the world and I am still drawn to hands at work.  So I guess the new me is very much like the old me only now in color!

I think the really new way of seeing that I've discovered this past year photographing the pond is the abstract image.  I've added one of the most recent ones as my extra today.  They are more like paintings than photographs.  We all evolve in our visual awareness and trying to take a fresh approach each day is an important practice for me.  Proust says it better than I:


The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.  - Marcel Proust

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.