A Cat's Eye View

The theme for Wide Angle Wednesday is 'A Cat's Eye View'.  My cat Henry spends a lot of time on the conservatory window ledge observing the garden and the birds landing on the feeder.  Henry is a very good hunter and I get cross with him when he catches a bird - we have 'words'!
I wondered how cats view the world and what they actually see, so a bit of googling needed.  Apparently they see a de-saturated view with a wider angle of periphery vision than humans, with blur at the edges. They are also able to notice movement in the peripheries and would pick up and react to anything at the sides. I forgot to say that a cat's short vision is not perfectly in focus - thanks to AnnieAndChris for pointing that out to me  .I have tried to recreate a cat's eye view of the world; a night time impression would be very different as the receptors in their eyes are better than ours at picking up details in low light.
Interesting - the things one learns due to blip!

The light was so good in the evening that I went back to Coombe Hill - very different from last night!  the sunset was stunning in a different way, so one included as an extra. Then, back home, hubby pointed out the low, rising and almost full moon.  So out came the camera again! Another extra added!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.