Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Waltz away dreaming

There are two stories going on here.

Story 1
I am on holiday this week so I decided to take the kids to Walton Pier. Lois always wants to go on the waltzer because she is a speed freak. I used to go on the waltzer at the old Spanish City in Whitley Bay (which explains my Dire Straits thing, "girl it looked so pretty to me, like it always did, like the Spanish City did when we were kids") so there is a bit of a connect there.

I couldn't go on with her because that would mean leaving Oscar unsupervised. So she asked if she could go on her own. The guy said it was okay so she was very excited.

She must have go on it 20+ times (Oscar 20+ times on the dodgems) because I bought them both wristbands.

This shot was taken early on. From ride 15 or so onwards she was sitting cross legged in the cart BBM-ing.

Story 2
This shot, which is by no means perfect and presented all sorts of challenges. The light was testing and bearing in mind the speed that the carts turn made it very hard to get a half decent shot away. I used a strobe (SB-600) to provide some fill. I also moved to shutter priority.

I am increasingly finding the Sigma 17-70mm a burden. It is a heavy piece of glass. I wish I had taken my 50mm 1.8. I may sell the Sigma and reinvest in a 50mm with an auto focus. I just feel more comfortable with a restricted focal length.

I have done some post in Aperture to recover some of the light and a wee bit of sharpening here and there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.