Red Geraniums

"If I were to live again, I would like it to be as a flower - no soul but perfectly beautiful.  Perhaps for my sins I shall be made a red geranium!!"

Oscar Wilde (1854 - 1900)


These are the fiery red geraniums I've bought for the terracotta pots behind the little picket fence along the front of Mum's home, waiting to be potted up and watered in.

I think I may be having a delayed reaction to losing Dad five months ago, and all the other big (mostly upsetting) events that have come about in my life over the past few years.  Lately I've become noticeably absent-minded and forgetful, which is pretty uncharacteristic.  I returned to my own home in Bucks this morning, and popped down into town for some groceries.  Somehow, I managed to walk away from the cash machine outside the bank having left my debit card in the slot.  By the time I realised it wasn't in my purse the branch had closed for the day.  I just hope it got sucked into the machine so that I can get it back from the bank first thing tomorrow.  Having checked online, no-one seems to have tried to use it to get cash.  I shall have to check again later to see if it's been used to buy things online.  If it isn't in the branch tomorrow I shall have to have it blocked, with all the inconvenience that entails.  I cried about it when I discovered what I had done, mostly out of sheer frustration at my current lack of focus and concentration.  I remember being a bit like this about six months after we lost my sister Kaye, so perhaps it's just a temporary phase in my grieving process.  All very unsettling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.