All at sea

Back blip

We had a free day today, and we took the courtesy bus into Funchal and had a wander around the old lanes, with the galleries and street art, very pleasant.  Had coffee and then headed t o the harbour as we had booked a three hour trip in a catamaran, hoping to get to see some dolphins at close quarters.

The catamaran was a small one, only eighteen passengers, and we could move around on the decking.   A bit out of my comfort zone as there is only webbing between you and the sea at the front.  However, I was fine.

We sailed out for an hour and ten minutes and we thought we were going to be unlucky, as the morning group had not seen anything.  However, all of a sudden we were among a large pod of over 100 dolphins, swimming all around us and leaping up out of the water.   It was so fantastic I forgot my fear and went across the webbing for a better view.  They stayed with us for forty minutes or so and it really was a great experience.  

Had to make this a collage once again as I couldn't decide on just one shot. 

The only downside was that as it was hazy at sea and I had lots of suncream on I thought I was safe; however, I forgot about my feet, and I burned my feet, however, not too badly .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.