#1729

I found a dead and very mangled pigeon on the beach this morning. What caught my attention were its beautiful red feet, and then I noticed it was banded. Curious, I photographed the yellow band from several angles, rotating it so I could see all of the markings. When I got home I googled "How to Identify a Banded Pigeon," and was linked to the American Racing Pigeon Union's site which clearly explained how to read a band. I was able to find out that the bird was hatched and banded last year, and that it is registered to a club in San Mateo.  I sent them an email about the bird, and I'm wondering if they will reply. I was hoping to have more information before I posted, but no one has answered me so far.


What a fascinating puzzle. One more thing I would know nothing about if it weren't for Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.