Ride a Cock horse to Banbury Cross

This is where I was this morning at 8am.

I left home at 0545 to pick up Mum to take her to Banbury's Horton General Hospital for her hip replacement op which will take place at around 1030 today.

I stayed with her til we had seen the anaesthetist & she had received her gown & paper pants then I thought it was time to leave & went into the centre of Banbury for a look. 

The bronze statue is quite impressive & is based on the poem or nursery rhyme which goes as follows:

Ride a cock horse to Banbury Cross
To see a fine lady upon a white horse
With rings on her fingers & bells on her toes
She shall have music wherever she goes

Left Banbury during a busy time but made good time & was approaching Aylesbury by 0845...peak time I thought, & so I diverted across the hills & stopped at Ashendon church which surprisingly was unlocked. I had a good look around & then I was home by 0940.

Currently drinking coffee in the sun....yes it is sunny  !!

A couple of extra shots of "the fine lady" plus a pic of the Information Board.

A shot of Banbury Cross tomorrow when I visit mumsy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.