Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Climbing, but no climbing.

(backblip)
I had a lovely afternoon/evening out with S yesterday, and also a new member of one of the mountaineering clubs he belongs to who had emailed to ask if he could have a lift.  So we collected him from the station, had lunch on the way and arrived at Froggatt Edge at about 2.30pm.  Our new friend began with Valkyrie, but eventually had to give up exhausted, he obviously felt rather silly but admitted that he was a bit out of shape.  S was a bit disappointed because he'd been looking forward to climbing it as a second, not having tried it before himself but having watched others fail in the past.  These are the ropes after the climb was abandoned.

They then moved onto other routes and were more successful.  Later S and I left the young man in the company of club members who'd arrived for an evening climbing meet at about 6.30pm, and we went to the pub for beer and something to eat.

The extra photo is the fantastic view from where I was sitting climber-watching/sunbathing/cloud-gazing because I'm still resting my shoulder.

Thursday morning's news is that I've discovered that a colleague at B&Q used to do climbing walls and would like to take it up again, so I'll get her phone number.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.