Salford Quays

Thursday 4th June 2015 (1013)

I'd had enough of this week and my meeting was cancelled this evening so I decided to go back to Salford Quays. It has been a glorious afternoon and my car said it was 22 degrees outside when I arrived. Apparently the water was 1.5 degrees warmer than last week but unfortunately it felt much colder. 

Anyway, today was mind over matter. My personal challenge was to complete the 500m course and, if possible, do the 300m as well. I set off and it seemed a long way to the end of the Quay. I soon discovered that swimming too close to the side was not good as that is where the litter congregates, I got an awful surprise when I collided with a plastic bottle that I hadn't seen! I completed the 500m and gave myself a little break. Someone stopped just behind me and said "gosh, that was hard", I nearly agreed but she quickly added "I've only done 7 laps tonight". Seven! Mine felt a bit pathetic after that. I carried on and did the 300m course as well. That made it half a mile. I felt pleased with myself but it had taken me 40 minutes of swimming, I can normally swim a whole mile in 50 minutes! Still the tortoise rather than the hare on this event I think. 

This is a view down the section that connects the two quays and is therefore the centre section of the course on 4th July.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.