Allotment through the alliums.

Though today was spent doing more in the garden I had to make an emergency vist to the allotment to water the plants.
I also planted the courgettes and pumpkins finally.
While we have been away in Wales the peas and beans have taken a battering in the recent cold winds but I think they will rally and be ok.
The gooseberries are plumping up nicely and I covered them with some plastic netting to prevent the birds eating them.
I grow lavender to cut and dry, sweet peas and pinks to pick as cut flowers to bring home and put in jugs and vases, once again the sweet peas are a victim of the wind but they should be fine now the weather is better.
After watering and a quick tidy I left to return to the garden at home but before I did I took this blip of my alliums that have grown here for years. I planted the bulbs long ago with the intention of using them also as cut flowers but can never bring myself to do this as they look so impressive in their natural habitat. I usually leave them until they have finished growing for another year and then bring the dried out seed heads home for decoration.
In this view of some of the allotment you can see the potatoes then onions followed by the brassicas of cabbages and broccoli . At the back are the the fruit bushes. The bright green blob in the middle is the fruit netting. The blue pots contain blueberries which I have to grow in pots as they need an acid soil. The lavender borders that line the central path are thriving so should provide a good harvest in August.
It's is still uncertain how everything should turn out this year. The warm spell at Easter made everything grow quickly but then the cold and wet weather of May gave the new growth a shock, a few weeks of warm weather should put things right so here's hoping the present weather sets in for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.