The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Someday, We'll Find It

I have made a new journey North to Upstate New York for a very special reunion. Those of us who have grown up in this area of New York State, U.S.A., joke about the terrible weather. My home town is one of the cloudiest places in the States, and today was no exception.

It is only Wednesday, so there wasn't much traffic driving the three hours here from New Jersey. It was the first trip this way in a while, and it was a pleasure to drive through the lush green mountains and travel along the many streams and rivers that flow next to the highway. There were spotty showers along the way, but my favorite stretch of pavement, thru Hancock, NY, was picture perfect.

Not long after arriving at our destination, the rain broke out again. This was a heavy sun shower, and resulted in a rainbow that stretch across the sky from where I was at the top of a big hill, all the way over to near where I grew up. This photo is of a small section of the massive rainbow . I have to say that I haven't seen a rainbow like this in many years.

It is a fairly well known fact that this lovechild is a dreamer. I spend a lot of my time creating stories and thinking about all sorts of fantastical things.

There is a famous song from The Muppet Movie called the Rainbow Connection. Kermit sings, "Someday, we'll find it, the rainbow connection; the lovers, the dreamers, and me."

Whether there is really a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, or just a wonderful world called "OZ," I like to think that this rainbow showed up to tell me that my somewhat chaotic week had just turned into the extra special, wonderful experience that I had imagined it would be.

Things don't always go as planned, but life would get pretty boring if they did. Right?

May you have a colorful life filled with many surprises and beautiful memories.

Courtesy of The Love Child Chronicles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.