2+3+1+1

By tpd

ponygirl

Just caught the tail end of the sun as I collected +2/3 from pony club this evening. A beautifully sunny and warm day, marred slightly by having been inside an office for 9h of it. Ah well. 

(replaced the image as the white balance was way off... )

1095: it's taken me almost exactly 3.6dot years to get to three years worth of pictures, which gives a fill ratio of 81.8%. All of which means: there are some very big gaps :)

Blip is an interesting exercise. 

I can see from looking back that my style (such as there is) has changed and developed over the years; I've upgraded my camera kit a few times and the fully manual/analogue tendencies have become more pronounced; I consistently don't give myself time to take photographs.

I'm not a blip celebrity (blipebrity? blelebrity?) (with good reason): I don't invest significant time in commenting, there are gaps all over the place, my pictures have never graced spotlight or popular, the entry with the highest number of views was because it gave instructions on how to backup your blips and memorably (for me at least) I failed to get a single comment for my 500th entry. 

I think it's fair to say the stats don't lie: my photographic tastes are on a par with my musical tastes - not to everyone's liking. That all sounds rather bitter but it's not, honestly: if you know me personally then you'll know I'm a realist and that is that!

What blip does give me, however, is a great diary that I would have otherwise lost: since I started I've merged my company, changed industry, moved to London, done a weekly commute, moved the family. I have a record of the children growing, changing haircuts, favourite toys and number of teeth. Memories of summer holidays, cycling holidays, October holidays, Christmas holidays. Dodgy moustaches grown for movember, beards coming and going. +1/2. 

I'm going to carry on for as long as I can; in years to come I'll be grateful that I spent at least some time documenting this fleeting life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.