Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Golden Hour at the Taiko Zig Zag

Since moving to South Canterbury earlier in the year I've decided that one way to get to know the district better is to go home a different way where possible.

Today's trip to the storage unit in Timaru was no exception; this time out we decided to head back home through Claremont and Taiko. I've been meaning to head out this way since seeing Rainie's marvellous images of the hills around Taiko, one of which won a local photography award. Luckily for me Mrs H was born and bred in this part of the world, so she knows the backroads from her youth, so on her recommendation we headed down the Taiko Zig Zag (a sinewy downhill section as you can probably tell from the name), stopping here to capture the scene looking out towards the hills near home.

This part of the world at this time of night is just wondrous. I have one regret though; as I was at the storage unit in Timaru today I had the trailer with me, so I didn't get a chance to stop at a few places I'd really like to as I had nowhere to safely pull over with my longer load. Ah well, I'll have to return soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.