Birds and chicks

I met my sister and Heidi this morning and we enjoyed a lovely few hours with our cameras watching the birds.  Apparently, there are over 1000 nesting puffins at Bempton this year which was great for them and perfect for viewing as they were flying round like a swarm of little bees.  

Before my sister arrived, I had a walk up to the far end and back and spotted a guillemot taking extreme care over a little chick, keeping it wedged in behind a rock high up on the cliff edge; a ledge of kittiwakes with eggs and chicks; and a lovely gannet chick which I’m surprised wasn’t make a hole through the back of its mum’s neck (see extras).  My favourite photo, however, was this gannet in the sunshine, gathering nesting materials.  

We got too carried away to stop for lunch but had a quick chat over a coffee and ice cream before I headed off for a rubbish journey home.  It was still well worth it to see my sister, who is normally at the other end of the country, and the gorgeous views of the birds on a beautiful sunny day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.