CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Study at Rush Skatepark, Thrupp, near Stroud

I drove Helena to a meeting this morning organised by the WEA committee which was held at the former Brimscombe Port industrial site.  We arrived soon after 10am and I planned to do a recce at the Rush Skatepark which I'd heard very good reports about.  It was established last year in a former industrial warehouse, and from the Youtube clips I had seen it was a very impressive centre for indoor skateboarding, BMX bikes and small scooters.

When I arrived it was very quiet but a Drew came out to ask if he could help and explained that it wasn't opening to the public for a while.  I said that I was interested in taking photos there and he invited me in to see the facilities.  He took me round and told me how it had started when his parents spotted that there was a need for such facilities.  What they have done is provide a high quality venue which is one of the finest of its type in Europe.

Drew left me to take some test shots having invited me to come back when it was busier.  As I walked about a teenager started practicing on his BMX under the guidance of a BMX coach.  I went up to them and asked if they minded me taking pictures  which they didn't.  so I hovered about while Harry went through a range of exercises using a variety of the differing ramps.  i have added an "extra photos" the first of which is a wide shot of the interior to give you and idea of the scale of the building and of the various different section allowing a huge variety of riding options.

I will definitely go back when there are some of the more experienced riders, probably in the evenings.  But I knew once I was inside that the limited artificial lighting would make it quite difficult to film. I used auto ISO limited to 6400, and am quite pleased with the results, but I will definitely need to bring a good off-camera flash I have been meaning to get a radio transmitter and this will now be a good reason to do so and I will have a technically tricky scenario to practice on.

When I left I went to speak to Drew's parents who run the business and they were also happy for me to return. I was amazed to hear that one of the Youtube clips made at Rush Skatepark has had more than 12 million views there!    Do have a look at their website here if you are interested in these sports. It is a great place for kids to practice, where safety is a priority.
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.