Trauma in Tiverton

So much for today's plans! I headed out for a plod, and arranged to meet up with Ian and Leo after their golf session but the golf was cancelled! So after all of a 5 minute walk, they swung by and picked me up and we headed to the library so that Leo could track down Burglar Bill's loot.

Then Ian suggested a quick visit to Tiverton - turned out not to be quite so quick! As we headed into the High Street an elderly lady went flying right in front of me and fell heavily right in the middle of the road! Ian had to phone an ambulance and I and another woman ended up lying down with the lady as we tried to get her comfy and staunch all her wounds. She had a really nasty cut above her eye and loads of facial bruising and swelling and loads of scrapes over her arms and legs. She was all on her own and had come into Tiverton from North Devon for a nice day out, poor love! The ambulance guys were great and took her off to get patched up at the hospital. It caused a bit of traffic chaos as the bus route was blocked whilst she was tended to in the road.

Leo was as good as gold just waiting patiently on the pavement where I could see him until we had seen the lady off into the ambulance. He looked a bit shell shocked - mainly because he is a bit squeamish when it comes to blood and the poor lady lost quite a bit through her head gash. So we trotted off to the new sweet shop once I had cleaned myself up to get him a therapeutic sugar high! It seemed to do the trick!

After 'all that drama' as Leo termed it, we headed home for a peaceful afternoon. I watched an Affair to Remember which was one of the movies in this week's Marriage MOOC, and Leo caught up in some Minecraft videos - then we both had a snooze.

Hopefully, tomorrow will be drama free! And I hope that the hospital were able to get the lady nice and comfy and patched up, and that she gets over the shock of it all soon.

I realised that I hadn't taken any photos as I was getting Leo ready for bed, so quickly snapped mum's little collection of cacti which always make me smile as they are so colourful. I just have to remember to move them out of the way before stretching across them to open her window - I only made that mistake once!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.