Postcard from Christchurch

We had another lovely day after a cold start. I took a walk around the city to see what has been happening. 

The shots top left and right are of the first day of the city's Farmers Market. I forgot it was on other wise I would have gone there a bit earlier.

The Water Wheel in the shot bottom right hasn't been working since the earthquakes but I noticed today it was working again. It is a Wooden replica water wheel mounted on stone supports on Mill Island. Site of original flourmill built in 1859.

The building you can see in the top middle is coming down slowly. You can see some more shots of the demolition in my extra photos as well. It is coming down to make way for the new central library.

The shot bottom left is of the earthquake damaged Christchurch Town. They had started work on repairs but stopped because of the costs. So it has been put on hold until a decision can be made to save it or demolition it. Today was the first time I had noticed that you could walk on this part of the bridge because it has been fenced off since the earthquakes.

The shot middle bottom is the Christchurch Justice and Emergency Services Precinct development and it is really growing now.

In all there were a number of new thing happening since my last visit last Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.