weewilkie

By weewilkie

the first scratch at sunrise

Each morning when I rise the first thing I do is the most unpleasant thing. I have to inject myself in the stomach to prevent blood clotting. It is a difficult thing to do. Like being told to punch yourself in the face each day: the body shies away from doing itself harm. The needle hovers over the unpunctured skin. Just a wee scratch, is the refrain.
I do it now immediately without thinking. For there really is no talking oneself into such a thing. I do it, put the spent needle in the container pictured and get on with the rest of the day. It's always the very first thing I do when I get up, otherwise I will think of nothing else till it is done. The itch needs its scratch.
And the container sits by the window gathering needles in its sunrise glow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.