Grounded

Tigear has been grounded by a deer. For the second time in three days he thundered into the house this afternoon having been chased by a roe that seems to have taken up residence somewhere in the woods along our stream, probably driven down the hill by the forestry activity further up.

She has a fawn at heel and is barking from time to time so she is clearly not going to put up with any nonsense from a cat even if it is one as pushy and normally fearless as Tigear. Consequently under the table in the conservatory must have seemed a good place to hide for a bit till the heat died down.

I have been grounded too. I was meant to be in Orkney tonight at the start of a two day visit by the Parliament's Rural Affairs Committee to which I was greatly looking forward. However early yesterday evening I started to suspect that I had a kidney stone developing ( I have had them on and off for the past 15 years or so) and by 10.00pm I was in a lot of pain and discomfort and vomiting regularly.

There is only one thing that can be done in these circumstances and by now I know the routine so after Catheen had spoken to NHS 24 we waited to hear where I was to go. It turned out that the nearest GP on duty was in Strachur so we made a very uncomfortable journey there as fast as we could.

By half past midnight Dr Robbie Coull had given me a large injection of an anti inflammatory which works remarkably quickly - so quickly that I was even chatting again on the journey back home, which we reached about twenty past one. But travel today was out of the question, alas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.