More Precious Than Jewels

Not on one strand are all life's jewels strung. - William Morris.

About a week ago, I shared a photo of the ruby throat male hummingbird who has been visiting the feeder. Today's photo is a picture of the female. They visit regularly, sometimes individually; sometimes, chasing each other.

In prior years, my favorite visitor has been the lovely Lady Greensleeves; however, I am not sure whether this may be that lady. It very well may be, but if so, she has not lingered long enough to engage in some of the familiar behaviors that would tell me for sure.

Early in the season, the hummingbird visits are very quick. In July, when the monarda come into bloom, the little birds linger for minutes at a time, hovering over each showy red blossom, drinking the nectar.

One thing I do know, and that is that these shiny green jewels of birds are more precious to me than diamonds and rubies; or even emeralds, perhaps the jewel they most resemble.

I think of these little birds as the jewels of our yard, and when I am with them, I feel as though I just may be in the presence of tiny angels. All my life, I have wished for hummingbirds, and now they are here. It is a dream come true.

With all of this talk of jewels and angels, the song to accompany this image is Jewel, with Angel Standing By. Jewel says that there was a time when she was very afraid, and she wrote this song as a lullaby to herself. Music begins around :55.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.