Over the top

For todays 'Random act of wildness' I went to the point to celebrate World Oceans day. The theme for this year was Healthy Oceans, healthy planet. We are lucky in that the inner Moray Firth from Helmsdale to Lossiemouth was  'designated  a Special area of conservation for the resident bottlenose dolphin population in 1996 and later sandbanks. The bottlenose dolphins are considered rare within Europe and these ones are the last resident population of bottlenose dolphins in the North Sea so I feel really privileged to watch them today hunting, jumping, tail slapping and spy hopping. I've seen them plenty of times but each time is special. They come unbelievably close, so close you can hear them and feel like you could just reach out and touch them. 
I had taken a book to read, 'Song of the Rolling Earth' by Sir John
Lister- Kaye, but only managed to read two pages as there was too much to distract me. I could hear the sparrows in the hedge behind me busy chattering away to each other, swallows were on the old , crumbling building near the lighthouse where Herring gulls perched and squawked loudly. In the water another Gull was pecking among the tide line. A few seals watched us on the land and then the dolphins arrived. My planned two hour visit turned into four :) 
More here https://livinginahouseonahill.wordpress.com/2015/06/08/going-wild-at-the-ocean/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.