Goldfinch....

....on my neighbor's feeder! Such a bright, pretty bird!
 Yesterday I was telling Tom that I couldn't figure out how my feeder was being completely emptied out, each & every day, especially since a few days ago I put a baffle on the pole so that the squirrels & chipmunks couldn't shimmy on up to the feeder! Well, when I came home from work today, Tom had moved my feeder into the middle of our back yard. He said that he'd discovered how it was being emptied out, & that it had been very entertaining  watching  the chipmunk climb the nearby tree & then leap (at LEAST 3-4 feet) across & onto the feeder! (who knew they could jump that far??) He'd hang there until the feeder stopped swinging, then he'd fill up, jump down to the ground, run under our neighbor's garden shed to store the seed, then come back to repeat the process!!  Honestly, with all the seed he took he must have enough to last well into 2016!!   With the feeder moved, he can't jump to it anymore!  So as I'm looking out the kitchen window, I can't help but laugh, as the squirrel is up under the baffle trying to knock it off, & the little chipmunk is right underneath it, on the ground, standing up on it's hind legs with it's paws clasped together, waiting to see if the squirrel gets it off (he didn't!). They finally both gave up.....for now.....stay tuned!! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.