Remembering Staffa

Dear Diary,

Today is the feast day of St. Columba, the patron saint of Scotland. Columba founded the Abbey on Iona.  I have been thinking a lot about my trip to Iona lately.  Last year on this day I had just arrived home from my amazing trip to sacred spots in Ireland and Scotland.  While I was on Iona I made the trip to the Isle of Staffa...a magical place of seals and puffins and its hauntingly beautiful cave.

These seal pups, and one lone cormorant, I photographed on my way to Staffa.  The pink and green stone is truly that shade.  The rock formations are similar to the Giant's Causeway in northern Ireland and Staffa is called the southern end of the causeway.  I've added two extra images of the rock formations.

It was a bit of a struggle for me to climb to the top with my undependable knees but I made it and enjoyed the view very much.  I didn't have time to walk to the other side of the island to see the puffins which means I have to go back some day!  I've added a view of Mull from Iona with the Abbey which I saw every afternoon from the inn I was staying at.  Who wouldn't want to return to this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.