Plus ça change...

By SooB

Unlikely blue

This is the flower (well, a cousin certainly) that I was going to post on Sunday when I was feeling blue.  Today, very much less blue but still loving the flowers.  These sweet peas have been a bit of a surprise.  I threw some in the ground near the veg garden in October/November last year, and now they are overwhelming the redcurrant bushes and putting out unfeasible numbers of barbie pink flowers which, as they start to fade, turn bluey-green.  Sadly though they are not scented.  Happily the resolutely pinky-purply ones near the house are very scented, so a huge bunch of both crammed into a vase does us very well for scent and sight.

Morning at school sorting out the world.  Very little actual work, but a long chat with the CheeseLady about most things.  You will be delighted to hear that we have sorted out all problems with French and English justice systems (I left Scots Law alone), immigration, racism, European politics and what to wear at weddings and funerals in a variety of European countries/islands.  Not bad for 90 minutes of concentrated chat.  Oh, also the science of what happens to tomatoes in the fridge (though I can't claim we 'sorted that out', just discussed it really).

Later I did, well, not very much really.  I booked a bunch of things for our 'holiday' in the UK in July.  Then a flurry of activity at the end of the day buying dinner and coolant for the car.  Dinner was a proper Northern (humour me) tea of fishfingers, chips, beans and a fried egg for me and TallGirl, with chicken nuggets and broccoli replacing the fish and beans for CarbBoy.  A chat with Mr B (trying very hard not to say things that would get him in trouble if anyone is listening in - despite him raising public executions - which happily we could turn into a lighthearted (?!) chat about Mary Queen of Scots) finished the evening and now I might take my weary-for-no-reason-at-all body off to bed.

This evening was supposed to be set aside for trying a raspberry and cucumber cocktail, but that will have to be postponed to the next cocktailable evening (err, tomorrow then).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.