Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Lunch date

The main reason I decided to ride back with my fiend R to Seattle was to enjoy a lovely long lunch with a good friend from college ( now that is a very long time relationship!) who was in town for a family graduation. I thought I'd miss her because of the book club -our last visit was NYC almost 3 years ago. So...this was wonderful. B, the professor, is still teaching in the school of social work at U Penn and doing her interesting research on "work". Now there is a bundle of energy!
Really really glad we could get together!! could use days more to really catch up.

R and I discussed Americanah, the book club book about the differences of American Africans (born in Africa) and African Americans (born in America) written with humor as well as intelligence by Aditche from Nigeria. Thought the best funniest parts were the main character's blogs about all the issues of all the different blacks living in America, but I honestly didn't think it held together as a novel.

It's very hot here....and noisy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.