Bi-plane

We went to Surrey today for a 70th birthday barbecue party. 

We are staying overnight in a hotel;  after checking in and before we made our way to the party venue, I went for a stroll.  As I was walking along a footpath by the edge of a field, I saw a biplane fly overhead.  It was fairly  high and I had the wrong lens on the camera to get a decent photograph of it.  I wasn't getting much photographic inspiration from the scene around me either.

I decided to change to a long lens to try and  work with some of the patterns in the fields.  I had just got the lens on when I realised that the plane was landing on a mown strip in the field right next to me.  I just managed to get the lens cap off and grab a couple of shots before the plane taxied down the field, round the perimeter, and into a hangar/shed at the back of a house.  It looks like a privately owned plane - and a rather splendid aircraft it is.  I find it interesting that the pilot is flying it from the rear seat:  I thought that would normally be reserved for a passenger.

Worth looking at large on a black background (click on the expansion arrows underneath the image to the right of the heart).

[Another back blip in my catch-up.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.