Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Wineberries

Apparently what we call wineberries are a somewhat invasive Japanese import. Wherever they came from, they are naturalized all over the place now - and they are delicious! It looks like there may well be a bumper crop again this year. Anyway - yesterday someone (I'm ashamed to say I can't remember who... IDENTIFY YOURSELF!!!) posted a blip of the flowers on a Holly with a comment about always seeing pics of the berries but not of the flowers. So today I was reminded of that when I saw a bee busy on a wineberry plant - I looked closer and SON OF A GUN!! Flowers. The berries will be lovely when they come along in a few weeks, but right now, look at the flowering business going on!

The extra photo is a sort of onion grass weedy thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.