STILL BEAUTIFUL!

After our tiring but very enjoyable day yesterday, I took the opportunity to have a long lie-in this morning.  Mr. HCB had got up early to go out to breakfast with our friend, Keith, so I had no reason to get up.

The downside of that is that I woke with a headache, but when I went downstairs for my breakfast, I shut the blinds and just "came to" gradually and am feeling fine now.  

Mr. HCB was working in the garden (well are you surprised?) so I wandered out there and was enjoying the sights and smells of the roses and pinks and listening to the birds singing.  

This seed head from our beautiful bright red poppies caught my eye, so I zoomed in on it - and here is the result.  Looks like something from "The Day of the Triffids" and despite having no petals, I think it still looks beautiful.

I was having a conversation with a friend only the other day about the ageing process and how some people don't cope with it very well so they use all sorts of creams and potions to try and stop it - and I wondered why we place such great importance on "perfect looks".  Even as we get older, we can still look good - and of course, we have vast amounts of experience of life, so often see through the attempts others use to deny that they are ageing becoming more mature.

I am going to grow old disgracefully - as Mr. HCB will testify  - and I hope that in the process, people will still see something beautiful.   Whatever happens to my outward appearance, I am still a "child" of God!

I found this great quote:

Don't stress about 
     your eyesight failing
          as you get older.
It's nature's way of
     protecting you from shock
          as you walk past the mirror!

The Bible puts it like this:

I will be your God throughout your lifetime—
    until your hair is white with age.
I made you, and I will care for you.
    I will carry you along and save you.
Isaiah 46:4
New Living Translation

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.