Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Cathedral. Old Town, Monte Carlo

Playing catch up now we are back home, on Tuesday we visited Monte Carlo.  Evidence of the Grand Prix two weeks earlier has almost disappeared (particularly as John, one of our dinner table companions, helped himself to a painted bolt from some of the Armco barrier at Sainte Devote).

We've been a couple of times so decided to head up to the Old Town, which doesn't have the brashness of the area where the racing takes place.  This was taken inside the Cathedral where Prince Rainier and Princess Grace were laid to rest.  I made the mistake of leaving my hat on as I walked around the cathedral, only to be very politely admonished, by a simple "Monsieur!" as the guide gestured a lifting of a hat with his hand.  Funny he didn't do the same thing to my wife!

ps I was surprised by the number of people I saw taking photos with their iPads!  It does seem bizarre!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.