Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Narrow Lanes of Genoa

Our last day on holiday.  We weren't to leave the ship until 2:30 pm and as my wife was under the weather I ventured out into Genoa by myself.  I love this city.  It is fascinating with all of its old buildings literally leaning against each other over narrow lanes.  I went out to explore and see if I could find any new places.  

I came across a few interesting things;

* The Costa Concordia being broken up at the far end of the harbour.
* A priest carrying out an open air service for the coast guard
* The largest accumulation of scooters in the world! (I may exaggerate a little).

I've put a few other shots onto Flickr, if you want to have a look.

I decided on this shot of a shop owner, walking out just as I was taking a photo.  These lanes are so narrow and the 4 to 5 storey buildings almost touch at the top.  They are a haven in hot weather.  You may pick up a bit of a theme with the images as I seem to get rumbled for taking photos nearly every time (A bit worrying when you see the expression on the policeman!). I hope it gives a bit of a flavour of the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.